1990 National Runners-Up

1998 Zanesville Regional Champions 2001 Zanesville Regional Champions

Games Record Win% RF RA Diff
98 38 - 60 0.388 612 738 -126

Joined 1973
First Tournament 1974
Last Tournament 2014
Franchise Status Active
Seasons 41
Regionals 14
Tournaments 30
Best Finish 2nd
Worst Finish 16th
Average Finish 10th
DNQs 11
Upper Bracket 10
Lower Bracket 15


1st   Finalist 1
2nd 1
3rd 2 At or above
4th 2
5th 2
7th 1
8th 1
9th 4 Below
10th 2
11th 1
12th 4
13th 3
14th 3
15th 2
16th+ 2

About Youngstown

The first three seasons in the AAABA were rough for Youngstown, as they lost at regionals in 2 of those years. The 1976 squad picked up 3 wins and finished 4th, but were outdone by the 1978 team that placed 3rd including wins over Johnstown and Washington.

The 1980s saw only 2 winning seasons: the Goldstein's 3-2 finish in 1983 and the 19-20 Stars 2-2 performance in 1988.

Since 1990, Bob Mingo has been the man behind the Youngstown team. He led the Astro Falcons to the finals in 1990 with both loses coming to Baltimore. The Falcons defeated Brooklyn and New Orleans on the first two days and knocked off host Johnstown and Chicago-Metro to meet the Marylanders in the finals. The powerhouse Youse club thumped Youngstown 21-2 in 7 innings.

Since their 4th place finish in 2002, the Youngstowners have not had a winning season in the national tournament (6-18). They are 13-32 since 1996, although they did capture the Zanesville Regional in 2001. Today, the club is represented by the Ohio Glaciers.

Site Information

AAABATournament.com is an independent website dedicated to covering the All-American Amateur Baseball Association national wood bat tournament held each year in Johnstown, Pennsylvania. It is not affiliated with the All-American Amateur Baseball Association or Johnstown Old Timers. All articles and photographs on this site are property of AAABATournament.com unless otherwise noted.