2006 National Runners-Up 2014 National Champions

Games Record Win% RF RA Diff
67 33 - 34 0.493 460 475 -15

Joined 1987
First Tournament 1988
Last Tournament 2014
Franchise Status Active
Seasons 27
Regionals 9
Tournaments 18
Best Finish 1st
Worst Finish 16th
Average Finish 9th
DNQs 8
Upper Bracket 9
Lower Bracket 8


1st 1 Finalist 2
2nd 1
3rd 1 At or above
4th 1
5th 1
6th 2
7th 2
9th   Below
11th 1
12th 3
13th 4
16th+ 1

About Chicago-Metropolitan

Chicago entered AAABA action in 1987 at the Livonia Regional. The franchise made its Johnstown debut the following year represented by Team Chicago Northwest. After that winless campaign, Adam Warnbach's Northwest team surged to a 4-win tournament in the expanded 1989 season, picking up their first win 5-3 over Cleveland in Windber. The club also won against New York City, Zanesville, and Altoona, losing both games to Baltimore. They returned with a 3-win 1990 tournament. Team Chicago Northwest competed in 5 tournaments, winning 7 games.

In 1996, the Glen Ellyn Jam led by Keith Romer picked up the Chicago banner and earned at least 1 win in all 8 tournaments between 1996 and 2008. The Jam were unable to win any of the 4 regionals, but were a surprising runner-up in 2006. After losing a rescheduled opening night contest to Johnstown by 10 runs, the Jam responded with a double-header victory on Wednesday against Chicago-South Shore (16-2) and Buffalo (10-2). They then eliminated Cleveland (8-1) and Maryland State (5-4) before earning a major victory over the 3-time defending champions from Baltimore (5-1). The Jam had to face the Orioles once again in the championship, but came up on the short end of a close 5-3 game.

The Glen Ellyn Jam disbanded in 2009 and the franchise was left without a representative for the season, but the following year saw the introduction of the Des Plaines Patriots. The team made a strong first impression with a 3-2 showing in Johnstown. However, the Patriots and Elgin Aces (2012) then struggled in the upper bracket, posting back-to-back winless 13th place finishes.

In 2014, the Des Plaines Patriots won the national championship in nerve-wracking fashion. After a 5-2 victory over New Brunswick, the Patriots upset New Orleans 10-8. They then battled through four consecutive one-run games. A 9-8 win over Flood City and a 6-5 win over Philadelphia left Chicago as the lone undefeated team. On Friday night, the Patriots used late-innings offense to eke out a 4-3 victory over host Johnstown. Finally, they were able to halt a Philadelphia rally in the ninth inning on Sunday afternoon to win the franchise's first championship. Despite finishing the tournament undefeated, the Patriots only managed to outscore their opponents by 9 runs, which is the fewest of any previous champion.

Site Information

AAABATournament.com is an independent website dedicated to covering the All-American Amateur Baseball Association national wood bat tournament held each year in Johnstown, Pennsylvania. It is not affiliated with the All-American Amateur Baseball Association or Johnstown Old Timers. All articles and photographs on this site are property of AAABATournament.com unless otherwise noted.