1946 National Champions 1950 National Runners-Up 1951 National Runners-Up 1957 National Champions 1959 National Champions 1960 National Runners-Up 1963 National Runners-Up 1967 National Champions 1969 National Runners-Up 1972 National Champions 1973 National Champions 1976 National Champions 1977 National Champions 1979 National Champions 1980 National Champions 1981 National Champions 1982 National Champions 1983 National Champions 1985 National Champions 1987 National Champions 1989 National Champions 1990 National Champions 1991 National Champions 1993 National Champions 1996 National Champions 2000 National Runners-Up 2003 National Champions 2004 National Champions 2005 National Champions 2006 National Champions 2007 National Champions 2008 National Champions 2010 National Champions 2011 National Champions 2013 National Champions

1967 Altoona Regional Champion 1969 Altoona Regional Champion 1972 Altoona Regional Champion 1977 Zanesville Regional Champion 1980 Altoona Regional Champion 1983 Altoona Regional Champion 1985 Altoona Regional Champion 1988 Altoona Regional Champion 1993 Altoona Regional Champion 2002 Altoona Regional Champion 2005 Zanesville Regional Champion

Games Record Win% RF RA Diff
358 269 - 89 0.751 2907 1617 +1290

Joined 1945 
First Tournament 1945
Last Tournament 2013
Franchise Status Active
Seasons 70
Regionals 18
Tournaments 66
Best Finish 1st
Worst Finish 16th
Average Finish 4th
DNQs 3
Upper Bracket 25
Lower Bracket 5


1st 29 Finalist 35
2nd 6
3rd 9 At or above
4th 3
5th 2
7th 1
8th 2
9th 7 Below
11th 1
12th 1
13th 1
14th 1
15th 2
16th+ 1

About Baltimore

No other AAABA franchise is as successful as the club from Baltimore. Their 28 national championships are over double that of the next highest total (New Orleans with 13). They have competed in every season and qualified for all but 3 tournaments, competing in and winning the most games (259 of 345) of any team. During those games, Baltimore has outscored opponents by 1,242 combined runs. They also hold the record for most wins in a single tournaments (8) from the expanded 1989 tournament.

The Baltimore franchise is a charter member of the AAABA and won its first championship in 1946 while represented by the Boys Brigade. In 1956, Walter Youse switched his Leone's Cafe squad from the Maryland State franchise to the Baltimore franchise. Since then, Youse's team has represented Baltimore every year and continues to receive support from the Leone family.

After 4 champions under the Leone's Cafe banner, the sponsorship changed to Johnny's Auto Sales in 1973. Johnny's won 13 championships in 19 years from 1973 through 1991, including a record 5 consecutively from 1979 to 1983. The team was 94-14 during that stretch and missed only the 1975 tournament.

In 1992, Corrigan Insurance sponsored the Youse team and picked up 2 more championships in 1993 and 1996 under Norman Gilden. In 1999, Dean Albany took over managing duties for the newly named Youse's Maryland Orioles, but failed to advance out of the Altoona regional. The next three seasons saw top 3 finishes for the Orioles, but no championships thanks in large part to New Orleans Boosters who won 4 games against the Orioles in those 3 years (Washington and Johnstown won the other two).

By 2003, the Orioles slipped out of the gate with a surprising loss to newcomer Beckley, West Virginia. Facing an elimination game on only the second day, the Orioles went to work at the plate and outscored opponents 50-17 over the next 5 games. Playing against host Johnstown before a sold out Point Stadium, the Orioles put 7 runs on the board in the first half inning and trounced host Johnstown 19-0 to win the championship.

Over the next 5 seasons, the Orioles tettered on the brink of elimination as they carried 2-1 records into the fourth day on 4 occasions. The Youse club suffered 1 loss in each tournament, but still managed to win a record 6 consecutive championships. They outscored opponents by 170 runs.

In 2009, another coaching change put Tim Norris in charge of the Orioles, and like his predecessor, his first time failed to escape the regional. In 2010, the team responded in a big way by sweeping to their 27th national championship. They allowed only 6 runs in 6 games, with 4 runs coming from New Orleans in the first inning on Friday afternoon. The Orioles rallied for 4 in the 6th to take the lead and advance to the final where they defeated Johnstown 4-0.

In 2011, the Orioles again went undefeated in 6 games and ended 4 games in mercy rules, including both games of their Wednesday double-header. In six separate innings they tallied 5 or more runs, including a wild 12-run 7th against New Orleans.

Currently, the Orioles have won 9 of the past 12 tournaments. They had an 18-game national tournament winning streak broken on day 2 of the 2013 tournament with a loss to Livonia. The franchise's record is 19 consecutive national tournament wins.

Site Information

AAABATournament.com is an independent website dedicated to covering the All-American Amateur Baseball Association national wood bat tournament held each year in Johnstown, Pennsylvania. It is not affiliated with the All-American Amateur Baseball Association or Johnstown Old Timers. All articles and photographs on this site are property of AAABATournament.com unless otherwise noted.